According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

It is now easy for anyone to connect to others in different parts of the world in this digital era. However, there is a debate over how the Internet actually has negative impacts on direct social interactions. I believe with the argument of how the amount of time people spend on the Internet can cause them to spend less time making real-life interactions, however, this should not be a concern since it also brings many benefits to our daily lives. Firstly, online platforms offer ease of access for people to have fast direct interaction within a distance which was rather difficult to do in the old times. For example, we used to have to go to our grandparents' house to have some small talk with them, or we could send them letters and wait for their replies which both would take a rather long time. By using Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Skype, and any other online platforms, the delay does not exist. The amount of time used to be spared on taking trips to our relatives' houses or the days spent waiting for their letters has been cut down by the Internet. Although there are some differences between direct and online interaction, I personally believe that the Internet should not decrease the value of any relationship between individuals. Therefore, there should be control over the usage of the Internet so people would still be able to sense when they need to pause online interaction and do face-to-face communication. Aside from helping people to connect easier, the Internet also gives us another significant advantage, especially in getting information. Before online platforms existed, we only hear recent news from other parts of the country in the next day's newspapers or TV broadcasts. However, information from all around the world is usually spread within minutes only now with the help of the Internet, so people are able to hear the news much faster than they used to. In conclusion, the digitalization has given us so many benefits that help us in our daily lives. However, the usage of the Internet needs to be controlled. Thus, although there must be some disadvantages to using the Internet, such as becoming to dependent on it or might as well reduce someone's social skills, I believe that the merits presented by the existence of the Internet could balance the drawbacks.