In many places, people’s lifestyles are changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the changes happening in people's lifestyles are very fast which can affect the quality of relationships to our family. Some critics say that this is not true at all, while the proponents of this topic urge the government to take concrete actions to limit the unbelievable speed of lifestyle's changes. Based on my experiences and what I have seen so far, I strongly agree with the notion of disadvantages exceed the benefits that it can give. Let me explain why that is the case. The most common reason on why people tend to follow the current trend of lifestyles is that it often gives prestige and very good status despite the fact that it can hurt their relationships with others, especially their family. For example, when Coldplay concert was officially announced around several months ago to be held in my home country Indonesia, many people including some of my friends can spend many hours just to wait in front their laptop or smartphone to make sure they can get the ticket as soon as possible since it can be sold out only some minutes later. The irony here is that many of them buy the ticket by sacrificing their precious things, such as laptops, jewelerys, etc, even some of them are not theirs but own by their parents. They are brave enough to do that because they believe that if they can join the concert, they will be perceived as a cool human beings by their friends. In conclusion, I really believe that there are more bad things that can be happened compared with the benefits that stylish lifestyles can give. Thus, I urge to my friends and many people accross the world to live modestly because if we only aim to get all of the pleasure things in life, then it will not be ended since there will be always newer products launched by the companies in the future. This phenomenon is called Threadmill paradox. Instead, we need to realize that the most important aspect in our life is the moment when we can be useful to others, that is the situation when we feel being fulfilled and blessed.