Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels (oil, coal, and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Others disagree with this approach. Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion

Some people believe that taxes should be imposed on many aspects of life in order to reduce energy utilization, while others argue that this will only have a short-term effect. This essay agrees with the latter point and will state that despite the fact that the idea of imposing tariff can reduce power consumption, this essay considers that the use of bicycles and renewable energy are the two alternative solutions that are more useful. On the one hand, some believe that taxes can be useful in reducing power utilization in many areas of human life, on the grounds that it will make people change that energy. The main reason is that the cost of fossil fuels (oil, coal and gas) makes people think twice about using fossil fuels as an energy resource. For example, many housewives will switch to other energy resources such as electricity to cook their meals. Although this will reduce energy consumption, I believe it will only be for a short period of time and people can move on to other solutions which will have a long-termterm effect on energy consumption. On the other hand, I believe that using bicycles and renewable energy will be more effective and valuable. Using bicycles for commuting and reducing the use of private cars contributes significantly to energy consumption. For example, in China, people tend to use bicycles for commuting and this can reduce the use of fossil fuels by up to 45% of their total energy consumption annually. another solution is to use renewable energy such as solar and wind power. The Deuth government can save 35% of their energy every year by using wind energy to generate electricity. for these reasons, I believe that using bicycles and renewable energy will contribute to long-term effects on energy consumption. In conclusion, although people agree that taxes can reduce the use of fossil fuels to reduce energy consumption, I believe that the use of bicycles and renewable energy are more useful in reducing energy consumption because they are long-term.