In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations

Rapidly increasing ageing groups are becoming more widespread in many parts of the world. There are several problems caused for individuals and society, and various measures could be taken to reduce the drawbacks. There are a variety of problems with this phenomenon. To begin with, elderly groups can reduce the efficiency of labour jobs. Older people’s capacity to endure tasks and to work efficiently can be limited as their cognitive abilities are reduced. Consequently, it declines the number of qualified workers due to the overwhelming elderly population. As a result of this, the economy of a country can be highly affected. Another significant problem to mention is that the development of ageing groups over youths can result in higher medical care costs. An ageing society requires more need for healthcare accessibility as older individuals endure more illnesses. Despite these circumstances, there are several solutions that both governments and individuals could take. Firstly, a simple and effective solution is voluntary funding for hospice care and nursing homes for elderly groups. This can be done by the family members and therefore potentially reduce the cost needed for healthcare supplies and necessities from the national budget. Another measure that can contribute to solving the problem is establishing policies and strategies to nourish a healthy ageing population. This includes the preparation for the workforce or even supporting caregivers. In conclusion, the problem of an ageing society is unlikely to be entirely eliminated in the short term. However, various actions can be taken to tackle the issue to reduce the impact it is having on the current society.