Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Educational facilities predominalty predominately focus on teaching English rather than languages of the surrounding locality. This practice could lead to the demise of lesser known speech. In this essay, I will discuss why it is both equally important to preserve local dialect as well as have good English skills. Firstly, English is a universal tongue and the vast majority of countires counties across the globe utilize this dialect. By having good conversational skills you open the doors of opportunity. Furthermore, the majority of occupations that require proficiency in this language are of top positions which will lead to a higher income. This is attractive to both employers and employee as, more people will work in that country and boost the economy. Secondly, fluency in this tongue reduces feelings of inferiority or unconscious bias. This is because, many people associate this form of communication with a brilliant background of education. Therefore, you will automatically be seen as on par with your colleagues and any superiority complexes will be negated. On the other hand, the preservation of native tongue is crucial to that nation’s history and culture. Local forms of expression are enriched with that societies’ culture and are a direct representation of the people. Proficency in local speech is a means of bringing communities together, particularly those who share similar characteristic and cultural mannerisms. To ensure that words that are native to a land are preserved, governments should make it mandatory that they be formally taught in schools and higher education centers. Additionally, grandparents and parents should make efforts to pass on their mother tongue to their offspring thus ensuring it lives on through them. In conclusion, whilst it is important to know English, it is equally as important that native speech are preserved in order for a nations culture and history to live on.