Some countries are struggling with an increase rate in crime. Many people think that increasing police on the roads is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree ?

It is quite common these days for people to become famous through appearing in TV programs and the internet. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this method of pursuing fame. On the one hand, there are several reasons why utilizing the help of new media to achieve fame can be beneficial. A common reason is the improvement of the individual's financial state through their fame. To elaborate, unlike previous entertainment mediums that limit the chances of fame to a minority of people, the internet is a diverse space that gives everyone equal opportunities to be discovered and well-known. Thus, for people who are less fortunate, it serves as a golden ticket to change their lives, as they can capitalize on their personal brand for endorsements and deals, bringing in significantly higher income. As an example, a news broadcast by VTV24 in 2021 depicts how due to gaining significant popularity on Tiktok, a farmer in Ninh Binh province made 5 times more than his previous income. On the other hand, this phenomenon can also pose a threat to the individual's well-being. By agreeing to appear on these shows, a person is at risk of receiving heavy criticism from the masses, sometimes through no fault of their own. As a result of the huge appeal of these platforms, toxic minorities are sure to be included and can personally attack anyone in a show for no particular reason. Without proper mental preparations, receiving such harsh critique can be a detriment to one's mental state, prompting them to fall into depression from cyberbullying. A good example of this is the Japanese reality TV show Terrace House, where a participant named Hana Kimura was sent death threats through Twitter from a small altercation with a fellow participant, which ultimately resulted in her suicide. In conclusion, becoming more popular through television and social media could bring about certain advantages, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked, as it can lead to tragic outcomes.