Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

There are a multitude of people who experience life doing work they are not passionate for, or they possess no good skills for. In this essay,I will discuss why such a situation occurs, mostly due to financial struggles and speak about the consequences that arise as a result. Firstly, many people have careers purely due to a poor financial status in their homes. They have chosen such an occupation because they are fighting to survive and may have children at home to feed. Furthermore, as a result of the current living crisis they have no choice but to work in a domain which they are not particularly skilled at, so that they can provide for their family. Secondly, there may be some who have a dream occupation, for instance becoming a Doctor however this will be unattainable for them. This may be because, they cannot afford the huge financial burden of tertiary education, or they may not have been able to secure the grades needed for this competitive field. As a result, they will have no other choice but to work in a sector which is unappealing to them as a means of survival. The consequences of such predicaments include, a heightened sense of general unhappiness and lack of motivation. Having to execute the same mundane and uninspiring tasks everyday will instil negative feelings within that person and may eventually lead to risks of depression or self harm. In addition to this, they may suffer from a magnitude of mental health issues, like a nervous breakdown. In later life they may have a mid life crisis and feel as if they have achieved nothing throughout their years. In conclusion, monetary troubles play a significant role in detrimental career choices and may result in depression as a consequence.