Competitiveness is generally considered a good quality for people to have in society. Do you think it is a positive development or negative trend? how does competitiveness affect individuals?

Competitiveness is an act where some people in a community try to be better than others. This trend are most notable especially in the early days of our life. Youngsters are usually the ones being exposed to the most competitiveness compared to adults. Still, the idea of being better than somebody else is prevalent no matter where or when we see it. As a lot of trends, this habit has its upsides and downsides in terms of how it affect a person. On one hand, the mindset of always wanting to strive for the highest and be the best is definitely a good way of thinking to have. This is true in every part of our journey through life itself. We most cetainly want to be the best in our class so that our parents and teachers are proud of us. We want to get the best score so that we could secure our education at the best institution possible. We want to be the best at the market so that we can get the most profit. This way of viewing others also stimulate ourself to become the best of itself in order to get as close as possible to perfection, which could promote a growth and healthy mindset as we strive for excellence. On the other hand, this way of thinking could backfire if one cannot handle the immense pressure. By constantly looking at others, we always compare ourself with them and thus feel anxious, and if we fail to meet our expectation, it could propel us backward instead of push us forward by learning from the failure. Also, the constant pressure to always be better than everyone could end up putting unnecessary burden to someone and make them experience harmfull stress. In the end of the day, the idea of competitiveness and its practice in the society is excellent as it promotes growing mindset and way of thinking yet could backfire. It is something that is very beneficial to how one view itself and its surrounding yet very dangerous for their mind and tiring for their body if they cannot handle the pressure given.