In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The continuous use of containers made from plastic has become a common trend in a multitude of food companies across the globe. In this essay, I will discuss why there are more pros to this notion rather than cons and form a conclusion. Firstly, plastic is a durable and strong material, usually with -holding a fluid for a long duration of time. It also ensures the continuous preservation of a food item or cold drink by regulating the temperature efficiently. Additionally, when compared to other materials, such as paper there is a large disparity between durability, as paper usually degrades within seconds. This concept is more attractive to customers due to the fact that they are not rushing to complete their meal or having to purchase and ask for additional items of cutlery. Secondly, containers composed of this substance display more of a variety in terms of design and artistic approach. For instance, the company can play around with the logo more or adapt the style of the item holder based on the season. For example, Costa usually changes their Christmas cups to match the winter season. Again, this is more appealing and eye catching for the customer and is likely to result in great economic benefit for the industry. On the other hand, the vigorous use of such a component significantly increases environmental issues. Factors, such as biodegradability and recycling are brought into question as, this substance possess neither of these qualities. In time, this will cause more animals to die from suffocation of such products and pollute more of our oceans. Furthermore, eventually this will lead to climate change and an increase in carbon emissions, ultimately contributing to global warming. In conclusion, there are more advantages for the use of plastic, like endurance and long term use compared to disadvantages of such products.