Some think that climate change reforms will negatively affect business. Others feel they are an opportunity for businesses. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are many who believe that businesses that adapt to adhere to climate change policies will suffer, however others believe that this could be of benefit to them. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with this notion and form a conclusion. Firstly, many reforms that have occurred recently within the food industry have been met with disapproval. For instance, discarding plastic straws in favour of those that are made of paper. The latter material is not as durable or able to with-hold fluids for long periods of time. This means that, within one meal a person may have to ask for replacement cutlery items ruining the atmosphere and overall experience. Moreover, this drives people away from that chain as they are not able to eat comfortably and enjoy themselves. Secondly, clothing companies are looking at avenues to become more eco friendly with their fashion. Often, this means that clothes are made from recycled substances. Furthermore, this causes the overall texture and look of the items to be reduced. This is likely to put customers off, as the clothing is neither fashionable or comfortable enough to wear. On the other hand, industries that take into account the environmental problems that we are facing today may actually benefit from such a venture. The issue of global warming is popular amongst the younger generation and its awareness is generated through social media. Therefore, any brand that becomes trendy on these platforms through both a business means and by sustainability, will automatically attract potential buyers. Additionally, the incorporation of new rules within an already existing corporation, suggests that this organisation is adaptable. Again, this is something that will pull in new customers.