The only way to improve road safety is to give more stricter punishments for driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

With increasing the private cars, the road safety is becoming less. Some claim that should provide the strict punishments for driving accidents and this is the only way to develop road safety. However, considering reasons such as education and mental health, I totally disagree with this idea. This essay shall explain why I against this statement for the following reasons. To begin with, the hard punishments cannot improve the road safety because it needs education of the road safety. To clarify, road rules and regulations should be taught before getting driver licence, and as a result, driving crashes might be reduced. For example, driving school should take lesson of road safety along with rules. Driving licences only provide for who pass the road safety exam besides training also important to develop road safety. Hence, providing strict punishments for driving offences cannot help to improve road safety unlike education are useful. Furthermore, mental health also one of the reason for driving offence because people suffer these issues in nowadays, thus, creates more driving crashes while drive. This means, these people should need the psychological counselling instead of punishing. For instance, drivers may increase the speed suddently due to venting emotions. They cannot concentrate on road and driving because they suffer mental health issue, hence, psychological counselling is needed to reduce the driving accidents and improve the road safety instead of punishing strictly. To conclude, providing strict punishments for driving offences cannot improve the road safety because it needs education and training of the road safety as well as psychological counselling for who suffers mental illness. Therefore, I strongly disagree with this statement in the above-mentioned details.