Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion You should write at least 250 words.

Whether governments should ban high-risk sports becoming a hot issue around the world, whilst such activities could endanger the safety of participants, and increase the cost to society sources, I personally agree that people should have the freedom to decide if they want to be part of such events. On the one hand, extreme sports, such as sky-diving, car racing, as well as scuba diving, could cause irreversible damage to participants, including paralysing and permanent physical disabilities, therefore, opponents believe that it is the obligation of governments to restrict such events. On top of that, the injuries and fatality cases caused by extreme sports will cost a lot of healthcare sources, along with governmental manpower, which could be used better in other emergency situations. For instance, many people died or had serious injuries from free diving, which cost lots of manpower to rescue victims in the ocean along with all the medical sources that are used to save them, which is considered a waste of society resources. On the other hand, in my perspective, it is the right of adults to conduct risky behaviour by knowing the potential hazards due to various advantages. First of all, doing dangerous sports could help people release stress that accumulated from their daily lives, it is good for their mental health and deters them from being depressed and pessimistic. Secondly, such events are attractive to many audiences in the world, it could benefit the host nations, in the aspects of economics and visibility in the world. Take F1 as an example, it is an internationally well-known car race, attracting thousands and millions of people to participate, bringing a great amount of commercial benefit to Singapore during the seasons, moreover, making more overseas people experience local culture. To summarise, it is inevitable that dangerous sports have many potential risks that could damage one's health, however, I agree that authorities should not ban such sports without legal regulation for the positive effects it derives.