Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to current technological advancement, especially the usage of social networking sites has rapidly increased. Many people argue that it has negative repercussions on individuals and society. However, I do not agree with this statement, since social networking sites help people to connect and stay updated on news and events. First, social networking sites act as a powerful platform for individuals to maintain and strengthen relationships with family or friends. Through features such as messaging, video calls, and photo sharing, people can connect with their loved ones, regardless of physical or geographical barriers. For example, students who pursue master’s degree abroad can have a face time within seconds to communicate with their family, compared with 20 years ago where students should write a letter and wait for a decade. As a result, social networking sites can enhance interpersonal connections and fosters a sense of belonging in this fast-paced and globalized world. Moreover, social networking sites play a pivotal role in keeping society updated on news and events. They provide a real-stream of information which allow individuals to stay informed about local and global affairs. For example, people in Indonesia can have a live update about condition in Palestine and able to immediately provide helps when they know it is needed. If these social benefits happen in a long run, it can reinforce society relations and foster prosper symbiosis. To sum up, though social networking sites may have negative impacts, we cannot ignore its huge positive sides. It can provide valuable means for keeping in touch with our closest people and let society informed about news and events, which can enrich people with knowledge and forming relationship between fellow citizens.