Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There are differing opinions on whether children should study a forein language in their elementary school rather than middle school. In my opinion, learning new language at the young age may cause these children forget their own language. However, the benefit from that is they would accelerated to be fluent. For that reason, I think the advantage far outweighs any possible disadvantages. On the negative side, too many languages children should learn may cause the confusion and lack for their native language. Consider pupils who study in the international school. Teacher in these schools mainly use English to deliver teachings to their students every day and foster two-ways communication in English. In a result, while they are fluent to the English language, they also tend to forget their monther-tongue language, and it can lead to the difficulty communicating in their non-english community. However, I believe that family could take a part in balancing the communication with their original languages at home, so children would not forget their root language. On the positive side, the earlier children are exposed with a new language, the faster they would be fluent. For example, young polyglots who can speak in different languages are taught foreign languages in their earlier age. By immersing new vocabulary and phrases at such the young age, their brains are easier to grasp that information for the long-term memory. Being excel in several languages definitely could expose them with the wide range of international subjects. Thus, in my perspective, fostering international languages learning at early school could benefit the individuals in the long run. In conclusion, while learning foreign languages could have result in losing their local language ability, I believe the upside outweighs the downside that children may easier to be a advanced user in a foreign language at their early age.