Some feel that individuals should have the right to strike in all jobs while others feel there are exceptions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are many who believe that people are entitled to strike no matter the occupation, however others believe that there are some anomalies to this rule. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with this notion and form a conclusion. Firstly, only those that work in a particular sector are aware of the circumstances that lead up to a strike. For instance, those that work in the educational field are being unfairly paid for their hard labour. Furthermore, the vast majority of people are against taking such a drastic step, however when the conditions of such a demanding career become overwhelming they are often left with no choice. Secondly, governmental laws have resulted in many slaving away for unhealthy hours with next to little pay. This results in, potentially dangerous circumstances arisng arise within the workforce as well as detrimental health concerns. It is only these individuals that are aware of what they are going through on a day to day basis, therefore it is their right to strike if they deem it necessary. On the other hand, such a crucial step has a direct effect on society and its people. For example, those that are in the healthcare industry, like doctors. When they are not at work, this delays patient waiting times, reschedules operations and generally causes havoc. Although, this action is justified it can result in a decline in the health standards of the surrounding community. Additionally, teachers who undergo this act make it difficult for the parents as, they now need to find replacement childminders to look after their child. This could also damage the educational abilities of the child, for instance their reading ability. In conclusion, it is advisable that no matter the job, those who feel benefit from striking should do so as only they are truly aware of the dire circumstances they are surrounded in.