Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, due to enhancing the number of vehicles, humanity is suffering from traffic congestion and encountering various challenges in terms of pollution. Although some believe that the high prices of petrol can manage these problems, I assume that these can cause other problems, so other remedies might be more practical. To begin with, increasing the price of gas and oil can affect the price of goods directly, because of the importance of heavy machinery and transportation systems in production industries, eventually this results in enhancing the prices in the market. Secondly, this solution influences low-income families in which affluents prefer using private cars regardless of the share of fuel expenses, especially when public transportation is not qualified. In addition, people are burdened by going on trips in their leisure time. Undoubtedly, high prices of oil and gasoline create new problems. Turning to possible alternatives, first, the authorities can increase public awareness about environmental problems and express the culture of sharing and carpooling, so the number of private vehicles would reduce. Moreover, they can invest in maintaining and repairing existing roads as well as constructing new roads to control traffic jams. Finally, scientists could research alternative fuels such as solar power and nuclear power. In conclusion, the high pieces of fossil fuels would appear to be less effective than other options. I say that the role of public alert, building new roads, and alternative powers are more practical and logical solutions.