In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

For several years, people have thought that owning a house is much better than renting one. Evidently, this is an idea that have sticked with people for decades and that has been linked to a normative deeply inserted in society, strictly related to the individuals' stability and social position. Above all, I think this conception can be negative for people's freedom of decision making.Now, this essay intends to explain the reasons for this case. First, thinking that having a house of your own is related by many to status. Naturally, purchasing a house or apartment involves big amounts of money, which is not something the average citizen accounts for today. Especially now that the world is facing a housing crisis, prices have skyrocketed which makes it even harder for members of society to get their own property. Hence, buying a property has become a symbol of money and status in today's society. Secondly, living under your own roof provides a sense of stability. Those who own their own places know that, in the case of unexpected events such as economic crisis or losing their jobs, they at least know they will not become homeless. For example, there has been several major economic crisis in the last decades, namely the one in 2008, which involved many people being fired. Consequently, they were not able to pay rent, thus ending living on the streets. Conversely, that was not a problem for those who own their own home. In conclusion, owning a property is an idea that proclaims to provide an image of status and a sense of stability. Nevertheless, I believe it is a conception that has stopped many people from doing what they trully want, for example saving for traveling or buying things they desire instead of saving in order to buy a house.