Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be a case. What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

With the development of the internet and intelligent technology in the world, workers now are so less relying on their employers in terms of income that makes them tend to be more on their own when it comes to employment than before. This results from employees's preference of time flexibility as well. Despite the countless convinience conveniences such as the desired life-style not tied to a fixed schedule determined by employers, self-employed workers can end up losing a benefit package coming with organisational employment.  With regards to the reason of this self employment trend, people nowadays are becoming more and more demanding for timetable customised to their lifestyle. Many love to work from the afternoon as they feel they can focus the best around that time and thus, they can bring out better results. In this case, the common 9am to 5pm working culture does obviously not suit them at all. Similarly, workers in creative roles such as fashion designers, content creators or photographers also do not have a fixed time in a day that they can be productive to be seated inside the office for a certain period. Consequently, these people are the most seen objects to work freelance. Though the time convenience and comfort as pros brought to them are undeniable, there are cons that need to be acknowledged as well. One of which is the loss of the benefit package offered by employers. It is commonly known that employers will pay their labour taxes contributed to their employees' pension funds working as a retirement income that comes in pretty handy later on. To the same scale, health, unemployment, and social insurances are all types of assuarnace that an individual needs to support their living better. Hence, the self-employed in the near future or even now can benefit from them and end up paying money out of their pockets in many aspects that they are not supposed to if hired by a company. In summary, the increasing trend of self- employment is seen to result from the demand for individuals' time flexibility and choice of freedom for how their time in a day is distributed by themselves. However, it does come with disadvantages such as the loss in benefit packages granted from the employment by an organisation.