Athletes in many countries are paid extremely high salaries. Some people believe that athletes deserve their high salaries, while others think that they are paid too much money.

Many professional athletes in a variety of sports are paid enormous salaries. Many people argue that they earn these huge salaries, while others disagree that they are paid far too much. I agree that athletes deserve to receive such large salaries. Professional athletes train their whole lives for what amount to relatively short careers. While some basketball players have played professionally for over 20 years, the average player only lasts about 4 to 5 seasons. It is therefore agreed that these athletes have earned the high paychecks they receive. For example, a basketball player could train and play competitively from elementary school through university only to have an injury end their career during their first professional season. Any kind of career that requires that kind of dedication and entails such risk deserves high reimbursement. However, many disagree that professional athletes deserve to receive such high paychecks. The current minimum salary in Major League baseball was recently raised to $600,000 dollars. Although it is difficult to argue that star players do not earn their pay, team members who only play in a few games a year should not receive such large paychecks. That being said, star athletes are valuable members of a team, but they cannot win games on their own. Even the players who sit on the bench most of the season have to stay in prime physical condition and be ready to play at a moment's notice. Since all team members are needed for success, they should all be paid well. In conclusion, while some people believe that professional athletes earn their huge incomes, others feel that they are massively overpaid. However, as long as we consider the training and risks that all athletes endure, and acknowledge the value of all team members, the reasons for paying all athletes well are easy to understand.