There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

There is no denying fact that the phenomena of exams is ubiquitous across the globe due to its importance. Majority of folks are in the favour of this statement due to its number of merits. However some of the people highlight its demerits first. In my further paragraphs, advantages and disadvantages of the same will be discussed. Initiating with the benefits of the same, the first and foremost key benefit is that exams give are the results. For example:- during exams student get proper time before exam to prepare from one. Another benefit which can strike the minds of the students can be marked by there proformance in exam. To cite an example of topper student if they studied really hard. On its darker side, some of the drawbacks which makes it problematic are, first duration of exam like exams happens yearly or by semester, instead, on the other hand, continual assessments can done weekly or monthly. Secondly,continual assessment help student to progerss continually. For instance, they need work for assessment on regular basis compare to exam. Last but not the least, assessment gives wide range of opportunities to understand the topic. In conclusion to the above statement, neither its pros can be neglected nor its cons. It is a mixed bag of positives and negatives. In my opinion, the statement should not be underestimated. And exams should be preffred than the continual assessment.