Some people think the the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, instead of benefiting them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a lot of People define school as a place to have an opportunity to grow up as decent individuals whereas some people assert the origin of establishing schools is giving people basic education and socialization for settling down as members of society. The main goal of schools is to consider a process of learning to conduct helpful roles in society, not personal ones. However, there are several reasons why many people say schools are no longer places where children can only focus on cooperation and learning to be good citizens and workers for society. First, the modern world wants an individual who has unique skills and outstanding abilities than the others, which leads to massive competition. Following these changes, the role of schools has to accept their different purposes to benefit individuals' growth. Nevertheless, it is still significant that school teaches children to be helpful to society. Even though the pattern of life in the modern world focuses on individual quality, the individual will eventually work for a part of society. For example, the more school change their curriculum to spend more time on personal studies, instead of learning subjects to enhance morality, the more children tend to act rude and uncourteous in society. As a result, they will fail to adapt to society because they lack the skills to live together with people as a member of society, even if their capabilities to conduct work are decent. Alternatively, there are a lot of private academies to enhance individual capabilities, thus it would be better to let the school conduct its role as educating children into good citizens and workers and invest extra time for individual growth out of school. In conclusion, building an individual's ability to survive in this modern world is important. However, it does not mean the role of the school is supposed to be changed into benefiting individuals since there is more valuable learning from school curriculums.