Today, people in many countries can live and work anywhere they choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweight the disadvantages?

Technological development has granted humans a more comfortable lifestyle, and it has given them resources to interact efficiently across the globe. Nothing comes without a cost, though. The more technology we access, the more complications we will face in the future. Although it all seems like bad news, the advantages must also be mentioned. Then, this essay will contrast both views and conclude whether it is more beneficial or not. "Digital nomads" is a relatively new term that was brought up in the early 2020s. Its meaning relates to a traveler that voyages around the world while working on his/her computer. Another term is "ex-pats" which means American or Canadian citizens who are living in Mexico illegally. As it may not sound harmful for the culture these guys are living in, the reality is their irregular status in a country where they do not belong is affecting deeply locals' economies. For instance, Mexico City has suffered from this phenomena, where nationals have been displaced from neighborhoods they inhabited for decades, all due to price rents skyrocketing as foreigners can afford it. I believe the market should be regulated and expats, who want to come and live in the nation, have to stick to national immigration programs. On the other hand, economic development and benefits from tourism and taxes generate income for the government. Although it is yet to be regulated, no one can deny it is a way of helping a nation's growth. In conclusion, I strongly believe and would encourage foreigners to stay in a different country, however, following the same rules and a fair market strategy that must look after their citizens first, rather than giving all the benefits to expats and digital nomads.