the most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that the main objective of science is to improve the quality of people's lives, while others argue that science itself should only be perceived as a way to fulfil human curiosity. This essay strongly supports the former statement since there are two major reasons why this is the case. Firstly, science is not only about human efforts to understand how the universe really works, but also it is beyond than that. For example, once doctors know the root cause of COVID-19, they can apply some concrete actions to prevent similar diseases from ever happening again in the future. This will be not possible without the role of science. In addition to that, when the causes of this horrible virus can be understood well, then it will be a major achievement for humankind because people will not need to worry about the possibility of pandemic spreading between human beings across the world. Thus, people are becoming much more healthier and safer than ever before. Secondly, science is also heavily used in the recent technologies that we rely on. For instance, when we communicate with our friends from different countries, scientists and practitioners basically use a lot of mathematical formulas and physics knowledge embedded in the internet connection or signal to propogate through fiber cable which is often installed deep below the sea surface. The implementation of using science in this case can make people feel connected even though they are separated by very distant locations. Hence, the way humans communicate to each other will also become easier. In conclusion, the use of science cannot be only for understanding the way nature behaves, but it also should be extended to improve people's lives due to its great potential to make the world a better place.