Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, it is claimed that not enough people recycle at home. Hence, some argue that this could be fixed provided that authorities launch laws which make recycling mandatory. However, I believe that in some countries there are more severe issues which should be adressed first by authorities before handling the way waste is disposed. Moreover, social media can encourage recycling in the absence of the law. First, especially in emerging countries, there is a high percentage of people laying under the poverty line. These citizens will be most likely worried about getting something to eat instead of how to reuse the trash they generate. Hence, the government will need to adress this problem prior to making their citizens recycle. For instance, there is a 40% of argentineans who earn less than the minimun salary. This makes it very hard for them to bring food to the family table, thus putting the ecosystem preservation as something secondary. Consequently, it would be extremely difficult for the argentinean government to obligue oblique this segment of the society to recycle. On the other hand, a higher amount of people have become more environmentally conscious these past years, making individuals choose to recycle as a personal choice. Due to the rise of social media, more news and education regarding what can we do to preserve the ecosystem have spread. Many instagram accounts related to environmental causes share the advatages of recycling at home. Because of this, many members of today's society have started to recycle without any law being involved. In conclusion, I do not think the only way to increase recycling rates is via policies. As previously mentioned, there are many problems which need to find a solution before that. On top of that, social media has already helped making individuals more informed about the benefits of the separation of disposals in order to reuse them.