Some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adapt to a new environment by establishing a minority community. Discuss these two views and give your opinion.

It would be argued by some that newcomers should establish minority community to maintain their own cultures. In my opinion, however, they should blend to the local culture of host nations. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that newcomers should establish minority community to maintain their own cultures. One of the main reason, when they establish a minority community, it will help newcomers do not have embarrassment or the feeling of being like a fish out of water. One of different reason, they create a minority community for immigrants to lead to preserving the traditions of their folk, help them not missing motherland and can attract native residents and visitors have more knowledge about their traditions and custom in their motherland. On the one hand, I would argue that immigrants should adopt to indigenous culture. In my opinion, as the saying goes “When in Rome, do as Romans do”, it is beneficial for groups of newcomers to adopt to indigenous culture. People merge into the tradition of the locals, resulting in an increase in the number of job opportunities and a decline in the ratio of discriminated or treated. This may help them develop and strengthen businesses, their kids will be educated in a healthy environment where they can communicate with numerous people of other countries. Another reason is they can be convenient for working together with native locals to gain a great deal of life experience and the likelihood of working in cross-cultural environment. In conclusion, although some people think that immigrants should adopt the local culture when leaving motherland to resettle in a new country, I personally believe that integrating local lifestyles brings more benefits for newcomers.