Some people believe that children should be allowed to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food or clothes. Other people, however, believe that children should not learn to make decisions since they are young.

As part of their development, our society encourages young people to improve their skills as early as possible. Some of them argue whether children should be given freedom to make a decision on their everyday problem while the rest of them think otherwise. To begin with, leaving children to do their own life brings some benefits to their development. Firstly, it is a good attempt to train their decision making skills as well as their problem solving skills. As a result, they will grow as independent individuals who are able to make their own decisions for their life. Albeit the positive impacts, giving the freedom might also lead to some negatives for children's development. One drawback is that they are possibly not emotionally ready to hold such responsibilities. As an illustration, some of them probably will choose an unhealthy diet for their food which will make them sick if it happens continuously. Even worse, the existence of their parents will suddenly disappear during the decision making process which may reduce the bonding between the parents and their children. Based on both views, I believe that advice and supervision is still needed when leaving young people to choose their daily activities. As it is beneficial for children ’s development, adults should be able to tackle the shortcomings at the same time by acting as an advisor and a supervisor. As an illustration, before letting them choose their food, parents should explain which kind of food to choose and give a logical reason for them. Therefore, we can help them to develop and prevent the negatives. In conclusion, even though letting children choose what to do in their life is good for their development, it comes with some issues. Giving some advice and supervising their activity could be a solution to those drawbacks problems.