In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

At present, companies are often bringing out the new features about their products to highlight as their marketing strategy because this makes these stand out to their customers. From my point of view, it is acceptable as long as these advertisements are not exaggerating about what is new in reality. As for the strategy highlighting the new values of products, the manufactures need it to draw prospects' attention to what they may have been seeking but did not exist in other products within the same category produced by their competitors. For that reason, the objective customers that the products are targeted for can be filtered and attracted to bring the expected revenues to the businesses. For example, when Samsung released their first folded smartphone that served the demand of customers wanting the touch screen size to remain yet being portable simuntanously, Apple, as their direct competitor, lost around 25% of their customers interested in that unique feature to them. Besides the how beneficial this phenomenon can be to businesses, I think to some extent it should not be harmful towards the consumers. In details, the level of advertising used to promote how newer their products are should be appropriate. As soon as this is exaggerated to meet the sales goals but does not actually do its job, the consumers may be the first one to lose their money. Yet as a result, the businesses are the next ones to be at the receiving end that lose their customers ' trust and future purchases.  In conclusion, the constantly advertised new features of products results from the neccessity of being outstanding among the others of the businesses and of course also to catch the attention of those consumers who have sought for these to solve their problems. With the nature of benefiting the businesses ' end, I wish the customers ' end will not be harmed by the sometimes exarggeration of the advertising of products that do not really meat the promised expectation.