Many manfactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which casues many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar is widely used in prepared food which brings about a lot of side effects. That's why Health-conscious persons believe these products should have a higher price to limit their usage. I agree with this statement because the higher price affects the community's purchase power as well as the manufactures' profit. Firstly, when it comes to buy an item, its price plays a leading factor in descision making. The higher the item's price, the lower chance to be selected. To illustrate, many people have nine-to-five job with limited income thus they cannot afford expensive items. Moreover, food is the second largest portion of a family monthly expense. Therefore, if a family wants to consume sugary goods, it would bring about a huge cost on the shoulders of the father. So he is highly unlikely to turn to these expensive products. Secondly, rising the price of sugar-made food vanishes its financial benefits for the companies. The main reason for using sugar as an additive in many products is that not only does it lead to a better taste, but also it reduces the production's cost. In the case of an increase in price, then these companies need hard sell which shrinks their revenue. Therefore, they would stop its usage. In conclusion, I believe in order to decrease the using of sugar, the price of sugar-made items should increase. Because not only does it prevent the public from using them but also companies will have no intensive for production any more.