Why do you think self discipline is better than motivation?

It is often claimed that self discipline is better than motivation in achieving goals. I completely agree with this, and tend to think that motivation is not a persistent resource to continue doing something regularly, while discipline allows not to stop even without motivation. As evidence of the previous judgment let’s see sportsmen. All athletes do sport regularly for different goals. Some of them prepare for competitions, others just keep their bodies in good shape. Despite the goal, all they need is a consistent and stable process of doing exercises, responsible and healthy eating habits, consuming required amounts of water and other activities. Hence, in order to get results in this sphere people need to be into it, be motivated, however, those who lose the motivation usually stop because they lose the priority of these activities in life without motivation. While those who can stand and continue doing sports without motivation are very disciplined people. Thus, being disciplined is more important and effective than being motivated. As a second example I want to share my experience of learning English and preparing for exams. As with any process, learning English is sophisticated and requires a certain structure and system approach. Therefore, to get results you need persistent training. Speaking about motivation, it is a really unstable thing, I can lose it or get it again very quickly, so if my preparation would be based on this, it would be an ineffective and slow process without great results. Hence, in my case discipline is more important than motivation. In conclusion, I would like to say that motivation is an important part in forming goals and choosing the direction of future development. Most people need to be motivated by others. However, motivation is an unstable factor, which directly influences people’s progress. Hence, it is necessary to be disciplined as well in order to maintain the progress on the way to reach goals.