Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

All youngsters are easily determined by the attitude and decency of other young adults which is also called peer pressure. Peer pressure has some merits and pitfalls but this disadvantage outweighs the advantages. In this essay, I will try to explain the reasons behind this situation. The preponderant disadvantage of peer pressure is that people start to follow each other lifestyle some individuals has a luxurious lifestyle as they belong to rich families and other teenage friends get easily attracted to their manner of living and give trouble to their parents. For example, Recently there was a suicide case in India where the child did attempt to kill himself as he was demanding a iPhone from his parents as all his friends had Apple devices but his family was middle class and could not afford to buy it. Hence, if people start to do wrong things or make trouble for their families for a small social group in order to be liked or respected by them then it is a concerning matter for all the society. However, there are some merits of peer pressure as many youngsters are spending their time with their classmates and other teens and they get influenced by each other lifestyles such as their dietary choices, exercise and many more which have a good impact on young people's life and health. For instance, in our school, there was a girl who was very fat and very fond of junk food after she started sitting with other friends. She gets influenced by their healthier preferences for their food as well as for lifestyle and she starts to follow their habits and loses weight. Therefore, peer pressure has a good impact on other lifestyles and choices which makes life better.