Some people believe that a strong economy can make people in society happy. Others believe that the happiness of a nation depends on other factors also. Which idea do you agree with?

Achieving happiness seems to be one of the strongest desire of every human being, so it can be defined on a social scale as every society consists of individuals. A question that would arise here is whether the economic factors can lead to social happiness or, other factors should be accountable for that. I firmly believe that there is a wide range of factors, some of which are not related to economy at all, contribute to a positive sense among people in a community. Given that one’s economic power appears to play an integral role in the sense of wellbeing and satisfaction, while the people facing problems such as inflation, unemployment, and corruption may affect their satisfaction adversely. However, it doesn’t mean that economic growth will definitely cause social happiness, as the example of India clearly illustrates. Taking a brief look at the happiest countries around the world, they are not necessarily the wealthiest ones or the ones with booming economies. Based on contemporary publications on the happiest nations, take the instance of Scandinavian countries, social security and stability are crucial factors here. As mentioned before, economic development cannot exclusively create welfare. By the same token, economic growth sometimes is created at the cost of class division and conflicts. Moreover, high quality democracy community creates a contexts in which people can exercise their will, have freedom of speech and thoughts, especially in a totalitarian regimes bring about social growth and happiness. By way of explanation, the communities characterized by paying attention to family as a social institute, and personal development like doing sports and learning new things are in the top ranks among the happiest societies. In brief, I hold the view that regarding the positive feeling of happiness among the people, various factors should be taken into account, those that intertwine with economic criteria.