Do the advantages of hosting a major sporting event outweigh its disadvantages?

In recent years, a growing number of individuals believe that spending money holding sports events brings no merits for a country. However, others agree that these sports celebrations have a greater positive impact on these countries’s economies and communities. From my perspective, the pros of sports events are still greater than the cons for several reasons. On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of being the host of popular sporting events. First and foremost, the organization of sports events requires unlimited financial resources. When hosting these events, the host country has to ensure that their sports amenities and other infrastructures including stadiums, staff, equipment, hotels, restaurants, and public transport can fulfill the needs of spectators and athletes. This means the country is under constant strain to afford upgrading and building. Moreover, laborers may be treated unequally in the service of these sports celebrations without legal medical and hirement policies. An example of this is Qatar, which is the host of the World Cup 2023. Although money is not a big problem for this country, thousands of workers had to work under the hard conditions of the desert without safety. This translates into a further discussion on the responsibility of the host country in protecting the exact rights and merits of employees for sports events. On the other hand, sports celebrations bring about enormous pros for both the economy and society of the host country. First, many fans and tourists visit the country throughout the events, and this creates gigantic income for tourism in this country. Tourism plays a key role in the development of a country. Sports events enable tourism and commercials to exploit their potential points and make the country prevalent and beautiful on a global stage. A further point to consider is the spiritual values among the civilians. We all know that every sports event draws great public attention and everyone will be immensely excited about the enthusiasm, energy, and feelings throughout the events. If people can take advantage of these emotions reasonably, this will bring a new happy, and intriguing atmosphere for the country. In short, although hosting sports events is costly and likely to put the labor market under pressure, it is necessary and vital for the country ’s improvement and social climax. It is recommended that the country which is allowed to stage a sports event needs to guarantee suitable conditions for workers and potential finance.