In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In the Contemporary era, there is a trend of having a gap of a year between finishing high school and starting university studies as in many countries folks are promoting this trend by working or travelling before going to college for education.In this essay, I will try to explain the merits and pitfalls of this trend. The preponderant advantage, for young people who decide to do work is that they are getting a little break from study as well as by doing some work they can save some money for their further study as universities or college fees are very high. For example, most people in Canada take pause in between the period of high school and university study to do some work so they can earn or save enough amount of money to pursue their education in future. Hence, this trend can be helpful to poor people as they are saving their own money for education and do not put any pressure or burden on the families instead they are becoming a helping hand to them. Despite this, there are also many disadvantages of this trend like as many youngsters is starting to work and they are earning enough amount of money and their interest in studying is getting fainted. In addition to this, It becomes difficult for folks to give proper focus and attention to their study because of the discontinuity. For instance, In many countries, there are many people who find it difficult to learn things after a gap of a year in college because they forget the things which they learned in high school. Therefore, this trendtrend can become a weak point for students as they lose their interest in education while working. In conclusion,having breaks in between the study has some favours as well as some drawbacks but the advantages outweigh the disadvantages if people have a proper mindset about their future.