In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some nation, it is a growing trend to promote young individuals to gain work or travel experience before attending university. Some people think that it is a beneficial for students to attend university directly after finishing high school. Contrastingly, other believe gaining work or travel experience before joining university will be better option for the learners. In the section underneath, this essay shall propagate the advantages and disadvantages for the young individuals. The first reason that comes to the forefront is taking a gap could help individual in rejuvenating and personal growth. Usually, young people in high school are grown in a protected home environment. They are advised by their parents at every phase of their life. When an individual travel on their own, they will foster a sense of responsibility and independence. Moreover, engaging in work experience can help identifying their field of interest, make them financially independent and contribute to become a more mature and confident individual. Such experience can be transformative and shaping well rounded individual, ready to face the challenges in the higher education. There are some downsides to this approach. Young adults may think that it is better decision to continue the job which gives them financial freedom or travel to be more attached to the fun lifestyle and take a decision to delay their university studies. An year away from the formal education may lead to loss of interest in study and their intellectual momentum, making their return to academic life challenging. In conclusion, leisure time before entering university gives a chance to refresh oneself and focus on preparing a major to choose based on exploring on working area you have studied before. Despite these benefits, they must be cognizant of potential drawbacks that may arise for choosing this path like missing their motivation to get into college after getting a long holiday or job.