In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping preferences of people have changed considerably over the years. Large shopping malls have made their way into modern society thus eliminating local shops from the market. I believe the impact of this establishment is positive because of the numerous advantages accompanied by it. In recent times, shopping complexes have attracted a large number of people especially in the cities. They have become a one stop shop to purchase various regular and luxurious items. They offer clothing, electronic appliances, personal care items and many more. Besides, they also house food courts which offer a variety of food options. Some malls also have gaming zones where kids and adults could spend time together playing interesting games. Furthermore, there is parking facility in malls which ensures security of the vehicles of visitors. Ezoic However, shopping malls have been the reason behind shutting down of many local shops. Although, we can still see some stores selling their own products, most of them have moved on. Many of these local store owners have taken over the space available in malls to market their products where sales are relatively high due to the presence of high proportion of consumers. This in turn created employment opportunities for many people who wish to work in sales and managing stores. Housing local and branded products at one place allows people to explore both kinds without having to move from one place to another. To sum up, the shopping tendencies of people lead to a sustainable development by influencing the movement of local stores to malls. This has made shopping convenient for an average citizen and I believe this to be a positive establishment.