Some people think certain prisoner should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In the modern era, it is believed that some criminals should do volunteer community jobs instead of being in jail. This issue has a lot of advantages and I completely agree with it. Hence, I'm going to explain my reasons in the rest of this essay. On one hand, the advocates of working instead of being in prison for prisoners tout its many advantages. Firstly, criminals hurt society in diverse aspects. But putting them into jail doesn' t repair it. So, they can offset it by doing unpaid community works and benefit people and the environment. Secondly, most criminals do illegal jobs just because they don' t have any useful skill or there isn' t any job that they can fit in. Therefore, they can hone their skills while they're passing their trial and even go further and make jobs for other individuals. Thirdly, prisoners can explain their mistakes to other youth and advise them to not doing these illegal jobs which can reduce the crime rate in a nation. Finland, for instance, has the lowest crime rate in the world and the government even pays prisoners to guide the other individuals and contribute them to not repeat their mistakes. On the other hand, allowing prisoners to be in society has some critics. Sometimes, people resist accepting individuals who have done bad things in the past. Thus, this can motivate them to repeat their previous awful jobs. Additionally, some of these prisoners can be dangerous to the society and even encourage other youth to commit a crime. For example, the last year in the US. a criminal that was supposed to clean the streets instead of being in jail, ran away and attacked a school and killed 23 children and injured several teachers. To contrast, the issue of doing community jobs for prisoners is getting worldwide, which I think is a positive development. But, this law should be adopted for prisoners that don' t threaten the community to retain the safety of people too.