There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, youngsters are more pressured than in the past in order to reach academic success. Therefore, some people argue that non-academic disciplines ought to be taken away from schools, so as to let students focus on the most important subjects. Personally, I strongly disagree, in fact students should keep on studying non-academic subjects. First and foremost, students during their academic career have to deal with numerous expectations and this is the reason why they feel so overwhelmed. Therefore, even if some subjects were removed, this would not solve the problem. To illustrate, an important American study demonstrated that almost 80% of the pressure a student feels is due to others' expectations, not to subjects themselves. Thus, changing school plans without varying the entire environment would not be effective. Secondly, practical subjects, like physical education, do not take up so much time like classic disciplines do. For instance, in regards to cookery the whole time spent on this subject is the one spent during classes. In fact, students do not receive homeworks and moreover they find cooking very relaxing, so it is actually a regenerating class rather than a stressful one. Furthermore, doing practical activities at school can improve the physical health of the students, avoiding medical issues like obesity or heart problems. To summarise, removing some subjects from the study plan would not result in anything good, since it would not reduce people's expectations towards students but rather it would make them more stressed, by taking them away their moments of vent during schooltime.