Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the modern era, there are some rules introduced by the legislative on the fixed number of hours that an employee is allowed to work per week. In my opinion, there are certain demerits of introducing these laws in the society. Therefore, I will explicate the reasons behind this scenario along with the examples in upcoming paragraphs thus, will lead to a logical conclusion as well. To begin with, there are various extrapolations behind setting up of these regulations and the most prominent one is that this limit assists in eliminating the workload on the personnel in a company. For instance, a work permit holder in Canada is allowed to work 40 hours a week, like 8-hour shifts per day so, they get 2 days off from their jobs to relax their mind and body. Likewise, as the owners of an enterprise are allowed to provide limited hours to their workers then, they need to hire more workforce that grant more job opportunities to society. For instance, maintaining more labour is extremely helpful because if there is any sick call, the shift is easily covered. Hence, it is apparent the reasons for setting a limit on working hours in the regime are quite significant. According to my viewpoint, there are many cons to such rules because employers are bound to render only a fixed time of work and the employees are able to work extremely less and are unable to fulfil their basic necessities. Hence, they have to look for another job and here comes another level of stress to maintain two jobs simultaneously. This situation is commonly faced by international work permit holders in Canada. Moreover, these policies also result in an increment in maintenance cost of a firm, the reason to support this metromonial is that more accountants are needed to maintain the massive amount of data of the working population which brings more stress to employers as well. Thus, I can not say that these policies are beneficial indeed. To conclude, according to the reasons aforementioned above one can reach to logical result that the government introduces these policies for the welfare of society but its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.