Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whilst many think that travelling or working are the only factors to learn a language, I believe there are other reasons to do so, such as being multilingual or educational purposes. On the one hand, pervasive reason why people endeavour to acquire new language are travelling and getting a job, as every individual wants to explore the world, observe foreign culture and relax from daily life. Due to the lack of knowledge they may encounter some obstacles and therefore in order to fully immerse into other culture and get more pleasure from travelling like communicating with locals, people learn languages. In addition to that, individuals could command more salaries by working abroad, as there is a global market for their skills. For instance, petroleum engineers can make thousands of dollars in oil-rich countries such as Saudi Arabia, compared to remainings in Europe. However, there are other factors that impact language acquisition. In developed countries, there is a high quality of education and books. For most, this is the appealing reason, since they want to enhance their literacy and study the subject widely. Furthermore, individuals want to become multilingual, as it improves brain development and helps them communicate with foreigners with no hesitation. For example, it is scientifically proven that learning languages enhance the number of cells in certain parts of the brain that are responsible for memory. To sum up, although work and travel are the prevalent reasons to acquire foreign languages, there are other reasons that influence people to do that.