These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this? How could more people be encouraged to come into the teaching profession?

In this day and age, people are getting less and less interested in pursuing further education to become a teacher. It can be seen by the number of new educators decreasing each year. One of the contributing factors on this phenomenon would have to be the low income teachers would receive for their work. With a job that needs a high level of patience and knowledge, the salary that the government gives out for teachers can be considered low compared to the other occupations. With the same level of patience and knowledge, people would get a much more promising salary from other jobs. Therefore, students who are looking for future jobs and education would often avoid this profession and look for a better and higher incoming job that looks more promising. One of the ways that the government could resolve this issue is by increasing the salary of teachers to not only provide them with a much more stable income for their living cost and household, but as a gratitude for their hardwork to provide students with the best education that can be offered. By only applying this solution, the number of students that would consider in becoming a teacher would increase. In conclusion, students often avoid the choice of becoming a teacher because of the low income. One of the solutions that the government could give out is to increase the salary, so student would have an interest in that field of occupation.