Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of children spending a huge amount of the time on their smartphones daily. One of the main reasons for this worrying trend is due to the fact that parents are too busy to observe their children ’s activities. While some may disagree, I firmly believe that by doing so, kids will risk their education and lose their future. To begin, there is an argument to be made that parents ’ busy schedule and poor communication with their children have increased the uncontrolled usage of the smartphones by their children. For example, many teachers in the UK have reported that two-thirds of students who have demonstrated deteriorating academic performanc, had the lack of continuous parental monitoring and almost total freedome at their home. For this reason, it is evident that parents are responsible for the considerably increased abuse of smartphones by the children, simply because parents had no time to closely monitor their children at home. What is more, parents tend to buy ipads for their newborn baby just to distract them and keep them occupied, which inevitably has led to harvesting this habit at an early time, so it is harder to control it later. This being the case, it can be assumed that if parents have dedicated more time in properly raising up their children, there would no room for such an alarming trend for the children. In terms of children excessive use of the smartphones, I firmly believe that this is a dangerous trend that should be limited. For instance, smartphones open the door to the internet which has various inappropriate content for children, which can potentially harm them and mislead them at this early age. Therefore, it is clear that by doing so, this could substantially affect their academic performance negatively, clearly because they have no experience in dealing with the dangerous content of the internet. Furthermore, children will lack the social skills in real life to deal with people and build social relationships, whereas they will limit their exposure only to the virtual aspect of communication. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if this trend continues, this would possibly damage the future of the next generation. To conclude, the overwhleming evidence seems to suggest that parents ’ ignorance has contributed to the increased use of smarphones by their children. In my humble opinion, there should be an immediate action by the parents to prevent any further negative consequences from happening.