Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change.

In our contemporary society the debate over the drawbacks of human activities on flora and fauna around the globe is a matter of great contention. While some individuals believe that the negative impacts are unavoidable, others argue that human actions could positively change. Although it is argued by some that changing our course of actions is impossible, I opine that this is not only possible but also imperative, if we aim to preserve the nature for generations to come. In order to do that, technology and education are our best ally. On the one hand, it is true that it is difficult changing our habits and behaviors. Recycling, for example, is a relevant action in order to preserve our environment, and to conserve materials. However, this is simply not enough to protect our oceans from plastic wastes. It was shocking discovering the large plastic island floating on the Pacific Ocean. Despite the fact that we know well how to avoid these terrible outcomes, we are powerless. Consumerism and capitalism are unstoppable forces, and nature is destined to suffer the consequences of our economic system. On the other hand, people could make changes in their lifestyle. They can choose to be eco-friendly, and building their home in a sustainable way. Nowadays it is possible to reduce the consumption of soil and plastic, and many local administrations are starting programs to support these virtue habits. For instance, in my home town, administration started several campaigns to educate residents in protecting wildlife, and living in harmony with the surrounding environment. In conclusion, the issue related to how protect plants and animals is a complex one. While some people think that our system is designed to destroy our planet, taking into account the advancements of technology and education can lead to a minimization of our impact on environment.