Many teenagers now have their smart phones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your opinion.

With the development of electronic technology, individuals can live a more comfortable life than ever. It is widely accepted that everyone uses smartphones in their daily lives, and most teenagers also have smartphones. This phenomenon has several advantages and disadvantages, and I think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Having a smartphone can benefit teenagers to some extent. Above all, students can study or watch movies regardless of their time and place by using their cell phones. Young people can save time and that makes them a more convenient life. Second, when teenagers have questions, they can search for information on the Internet through their phones without having to ask their teachers in person. In addition, it is clear that using cell phones for communication has a positive effect on young people's reading and writing abilities. When young people use electronics to communicate, they can read a wide range of content faster, and they naturally get many opportunities to process a lot of information. However, we should not dismiss the disadvantages it can bring about. Although an increased use of electronic technology has allowed student to access a wide range of information all around the world, young people have to deal with much information that is created everywhere in a critical way. However, it is common that more youngsters tend not to have good critical thinking since they have to deal with much information consistently. Moreover, young people are likely to be distracted easily since there are many functions in the electronic gadget. Especially, some convenient functions of the devices make them independent and they may not know proper spellings or punctuations without auto correction functions. In conclusion, the development of electronic technology has enabled young people to read and write about various topics more easily and confidently, and however some youngsters lack critical thinking or do not know accurate spelling or punctuation. Eventually, teenagers might be rely on mobile phone and they do no know survive without the phone. Given all, schools or parents’ close guidelines about the efficient use of such device is strongly required.