Some people think that it is better for older schoolchildren to study a large number of subjects and develop a wide range of knowledge. Others argue that they should study a smaller number of subjects and focus on details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past decade, by virtue of advanced living standards, the educational system has gained popularity in various countries, leading to a paradigm shift in the application of multiple subjects at schools. This, therefore, is believed to be beneficial for learners. Despite the many positive ramifications that may derive from the argument, this educating style is likely to be predominantly disadvantageous to students due to the rationales outlined below. Admittedly, advocates of the statement that adolescent students should better learn a variety of subjects at schools may argue that this implementation not only offers learners many useful skills but also enables a foreseeable well-rounded individual. First, when attending to some intellectual subjects, namely chemistry or math, students are able to enhance their cognitive abilities. Some examples of this, particularly include the improvement of problem-solving skills like balancing chemical equations or addressing chemical reactions. Second, since a multi- subjects educating style is implemented, this necessitates a well-developed citizen. By studying many majors at schools, students might get a deeper insight into every aspect of life, leading to a complete understanding of their future. Nevertheless, despite the feasible positive impacts above, focusing on some chosen subjects is still the optimal choice. First, favorite majors act as incentives for youngsters’ passion and motivation in learning. It should be remembered that once adolescents are encouraged to engage in the fields they are interested in, they will have opportunities to foster their talents and potential abilities themselves, therefore minimizing teachers’ efforts in terms of helping learners understand the lessons. In addition, once students can select their favored subjects, a self-learning style will be granted. If young learners can make a decision on what they will study, their independence and autonomy skills in learning will be ensured, leading to a responsible individual later on. In conclusion, despite the ubiquity of multi-subject avenues in education, prioritizing several selected subjects remains the most preferred choice due to the autonomic and favorable features. Because of these merits, I do expect government development aims to be drastically altered in the foreseeable future.