Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous increase in number of individuals who do not pursue science courses at the university globally. One of tha main reasons for this worrying trend is due to the fact that these subjects are not being taught properly. One of main dangers of this worring trend is linked to the negative impact on scientific research opportunities. To begin, there is an argument to be made that students avoid studying science at their university because of the low quality of teaching. For example, two-thirds of biology students at the University of Florida reported most of their lab classes, simply because their teacher did not have enough teaching experience to explain the materials well. For this reason, it is evident that students did not find it beneficial to attend various classes, which inevitably spread negative attitudes among students and distracted their concetration as a result. What is more, the lack of labroteries’ equipments and the small size of the rooms have reduced the efficiency of learning outcomes, so this significantly has affected the participation percentage. This being the case, it can be assumed that if teaching science subjects was more interactive, this would attract more students to study sciences. In addition, it must be stated that this could potentially decrease the comptitiveness of researchers and lower the level of scientific advancment. For instance, many newly-graduated researchers did not find jobs in their filed, due to their low qualifications and lack of experience in the field. Therefore, it is clear that the overall quality of innonvative research will be reduced, which cut down some many funding resources as a result. Furthermore, there will be not enough update on the newly-emerging microorganisms, which inevitably can lead to detrimental consequences in the world. With this in mind, there is not doubt that if there is a consistent downtrend in studying sciences, this could harm the health of millions of people. To conclude, the overwhleming evidence seems to suggest that the increasing number of students choosing non-scientific courses is related to various causes, on the top of them is the quality of the education system, however, this can significantly generate a sequence of harmful impacts.