Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The authorities nowadays are concerned about economic growth as it has an essential role to take power globally and expand their national interactions. Many have argued that society’s development is related to various aspects of progress. I completely agree that other edges of a community such as cultural and social awareness, technology and the quality of life should have take priority or at least be considered at the same level of importance. On the one hand, those who support the high priority of economic growth point to the essential role of financial resources in improving infrastructure of a country. For example, transportation systems and civil facilitations are costly expenditures, therefore, having enough financial resources will increase the quality of services. A further argument mentions the costly process of supply and food fulfillment in societies. As overpopulation and overconsumption is increasing worldwide, those governments who are not able to afford purchasing foods and other needs like drugs, will suffer from chronic starvation and diseases. By contrast, supporters of the important role of other activities believe that an unreasonable attention to progressing economically leads to some problems such as environmental degradation, wealth diversity and neglect of cultural and social growth. Firstly, social equality is one of the features of a developed country. Meaning that the resources and services should be available for all groups, thus, providing job opportunities, free education, and healthcare treatments should be the aims of a progressed government. Furthermore, the preservation of historical and cultural heritage has an effective role in improving society and strengthening the feeling of belonging and harmony in society as these provoke a sense of identity among people. This leads to improving social bonds and diversity. In conclusion, although economic growth is not the only factor of prosperity, the importance of financial support for improving other parts of society is inevitable. In my point of view, the accessibility of services for all groups and the protection of cultural heritage have the same effect on a nation’s success.