OPIC: In recent years, the family structure and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

In recent decades, there have been significant changes in the family structure, such as fewer members in a family and the definition of family members extending to non-humans. In my view, because of the changes in family structures, citizens will have fewer connections with each other, which is negative. However, people will bond new intimacy with non-humans, which can shed light on animal ethics and is therefore positive. On the one hand, families are becoming more concise, which to some extent weakens the communication and intimacy among people. In the past, one family was comprised of different generations. Nowadays, however, once youngsters grow up, get married and start a new family, they will move out to live somewhere else. As a result, the youngsters' aging parents are not living with their children and grandchildren. They have to take care of themselves despite all the inconvenience brought by their deteriorating physical health and degrading body functions, which can become a threat to the elderly's safety, because accidents, such as falling off the stairs, are likely to occur. Besides the safety issues, it is unavoidable that the elderly will feel lonely easily, because hardly can they have communications with their children and grandchildren, which can not only be detrimental to the senior citizens ' mental well-being, but also widen the generation gap, which is huge already. On the other hand, it is worth noticing that people are starting to accept non-humans as their family members. For example, some couples may shun away from the idea of giving birth to a human child, yet they adopt a pet and raise it as their child. Usually the pets will be treated very well, because their "parents" will be quite sensitive towards their needs, both mentally and physically. The "parents" will take the pets to see a vet whenever something is wrong, and they will also make sure that the pets are participating in a series of entertaining, health-benefitting activities. In my opinion, it is inspirational as it suggests that animal rights also matter, which can appeal more people to be kind to animals, and therefore contribute to the development of animal ethics. In conclusion, changes in family structures can weaken the communication between human beings, especially that between senior citizens and junior citizens, yet strenthen strengthens the interaction between human beings and animals.