People in the community can buy cheaper products nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many affordable commodities have been sold at low-priced these days. While the benefits of this trend cannot be denied, I would argue the drawbacks are more significant. On the one hand, the provision of cheaper goods presents several advantages. Firstly, the society becomes safer to live when people have a chance to buy goods at a lower price on the shelves. It is because ones can meet their basic demands such as eating, dressing, personal belongings despite their limited incomes, which leads to a decline in crime rate such as stealing and robbing. Secondly, the national economy will be boosted because consumer purchasing power increases. Many manufacturing companies will expand their sales of consumer goods so more jobs opportunities are created, contributing to the general prosperity of the country. On the other hand, there are serious disadvantages, which overshadow those advantages above. The primary reason for this view is that the quality of commodities might be taken for granted, as can be harmful to human health. For example, that a large scale of toxic vegetables and fruits have been imported from China at an extremely low price in recent years is one of the main causes of rising cancer rate in Vietnam. Another factor is the adverse impact on the environment when more and more factories are built to meet the market’s demand. As a result, the surrounding is seriously polluted due to their toxic waste and exhaust. In conclusion, although the cheaper products have its own benefits, the drawbacks of this trend are greater.