Despite improved access to education, many adults still lack literacy skills. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

In modern era education is easily accessible to almost every individual of society. Large number of educational institutions are providing extravagant facilities to students in almost every part of the world. The sole purpose of their services is to provide high quality education. However, regardless of everything there are many individuals whose literacy skills are still very low. This problem seems to be very common in many adults. However, it not only lowers the literacy rate of the society but there are also several disadvantages. First and foremost, no education means not taking any major steps in development for the better future of society. Education polishes the human brain and provide them ability to differentiate between good and bad aspects of life. Kids are considered as a future of any country. However, someone with zero knowledge will not be able to raise and guide their kids properly. Grooming of the one kid raised by an educated adult will definitely going to be lot better than the one raised by an uneducated one. Most importantly, this impact last till generations. Secondly, knowledge and education give people enough confidence to question anything bad happening around them. Therefore, a person with low knowledge lacks the ability to raise a voice for their own right. This results in corrupt politicians taking benefit of this whole situation and not fulfilling the needs and rights of individuals. In my opinion, government can do more arrangement for the people in order to attract them towards getting education. Especially, they can arrange number of physical workshops to promote education especially to those areas where number of literacy rate is too low. Moreover, they can distribute free books and hire volunteers who can travel to those regions and motivate people towards education. In addition to that, there are many private institutions who are giving free education to people. They are not only giving free education but also motivating adults so they can at least send their kids to study.