People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our lives generally more comfortable, but many traditional values and customs have been lost and this is a pity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People nowadays are working hard to buy more things. Even though this trend has made life simpler, people are imploring that it has hindered traditional values while promoting materialism. This essay will emphasize that the said statement is incorrect. In its truest sense, materialism is detrimental for any person. But from what has been observed, people are happy once they get what they want. Moreover, they feel like they’ve accomplished a goal, which gives them and their efforts further gratification. When an individual accomplishes a target that he sets, for instance, a car, he feels good about himself. Suppose walking as a traditional value is substituted in the midst. In that case, there is no harm in that because a car allows the person to travel with ease and safety, makes him punctual and gives him the leisure to go the extra mile if his workplace is located far from his home. Materialism is, therefore, an evolutionary aspect of human culture as it allows redirection of focus from menial tasks to other important ones. On the other hand, being avaricious can cause unhappiness as there is no upper limit to either satisfaction or greed. But, such cases are far too few, and in general, people ’s functionality is increased. Furthermore, materialism doesn’t directly affect traditional values, rather makes lives easier and more comfortable. Hence, people working hard to buy things has definitely made life more comfortable. So, if traditional values have been lost in the process, one has to realise it as an progressive aspect and nothing else.